Maria Pouliezos-Karayiannis, DMD

I love working with children; it is the main reason I became an orthodontist! My own treatment as a child had such a positive impact on me. It gave me the confidence to smile uninhibitedly, and I have always believed that there is nothing more beautiful than a child’s smile.

Orthodontics is not an easy undertaking, and it is my job to be as helpful, patient, and understanding as possible in order to help my patients achieve the results they have always wanted. This carries through to patients of all ages! It is very rewarding to watch my younger patients grow during their treatment and become more responsible and self aware of their health. Adult treatment carries similar advantages. Watching them gain the confidence and determination to finally take charge of their smile and oral health is wonderful!

The most exciting and rewarding part of being an orthodontist has and always will be the end result. It is truly a blessing to witness such a change in a person’s life.

Education and Continuing Education

  • McGill University – Bachelor of Science in Physiology, 1998
  • McGill University – Doctorate of Dental Medicine, 2002
  • Stony Brook University – Advanced Education in General Dentistry/Certificate in Orthodontics, 2003

The technological advances made in dentistry not only allow me to optimize treatment results, but they have also made the treatment itself easier on the patient. Digital radiography, intraoral scanners, and amazing software programs allow us to do things we have never been able to do before! These advances involve the ease and acceleration of treatment, making it more aesthetic, comfortable, and rewarding. I dedicate many hours to continuing education on new technology, whether through conferences given by associations or courses offered by private companies.

Professional Affiliations

  • American Association of Orthodontists
  • American Dental Association
  • Connecticut State Dental Association
  • New England Society of Orthodontists
  • Bridgeport Dental Society

Outside the Office

I was born and raised in Montreal, Canada. I speak French, English, and Greek, as both my parents are Greek immigrants. My husband, Peter, is from Stamford, Connecticut. We always knew we wanted to come back here following our studies. We decided to move to Trumbull for the good schools and great community. All in all, it’s a great town surrounded by more great towns! We have been very happy making our life here.

Peter and I have three children, George, Kyra and Alexander. Ice skating, and taking the kids to the parks and attractions our beautiful community has to offer, are our favorite ways to spend free time.